Youth leader

Matherson sprints to national youth record | Sports

Kingston College sprinter ace Jhevaughn Matherson marked the opening day of the 2016 Carifta Trials yesterday with a national youth record of 10.25 seconds to capture the Under-18 100m.

Matherson, who had only competed in a single 100m race the day before yesterday, crossed the finish line ahead of Dejour Russell of Calabar High, who broke a personal best of 10.39, while Odaine McPherson of Greater Portmore was third in 10.64.

Matherson’s winning time erased the 10.27 mark jointly held by Jahzeel Murphy and Raheem Chambers.

Nigel Ellis of St Elizabeth Technical won the 100m under 20 in 10.26, beating Raheem Chambers of St Jago High. Chambers (10.32) led 90 yards before Ellis rallied for the win. Xavier Angus of Calabar was third in 10.51.


Helped by a wind of 2.5 meters per second, Kimone Shaw of St Jago continued to dominate at this level. She won the Under-17 100m in 11.51 ahead of Michae Harriott of Holmwood Technical, 11.93, and Kemba Nelson of Mount Alvernia High, 11.94.

Patrice Moodie of Edwin Allen High claimed an impressive 11.56 victory in the women’s under-20 100-meter final. Shanice Reid of St Jago (11.79) was second and Ruchelle Burton of Camperdown third in 11.80.

There were also some outstanding performances in the 400-meter hurdles, led by Shannon Kallawan of Edwin Allen High in the women’s under-20 event. Kallawan broke an impressive personal best of 56.80 seconds, overtaking Holmwood’s Nicolee Foster, who clocked a personal best of 58.40.

In the under-18 hurdles, Sanique Walker of Vere Technical won a personal best of 58.68. Shian Salmon of Hydel High was second in 59.37.

Jauvaney James of St Elizabeth Technical won the U-20 400m hurdles in 51.67 edging Timor Barrett of St Jago (51.68). Sherwayne Allen of Kingston College was third with a personal best 52.56.

In the Under-18 400m hurdles, the athletes from St Elizabeth finished first and second. Leonardo Ledgister, 53.26, won ahead of Dashinelle Dyer, 54.30.

Other results


Shot put under 18s: 1. Rasheeda Downer (KC) 18.81 m, 2. Zico Campbell 17.60m, 3. Danree Delancy (Munro) 17.71 m.

High jump under 18: 1. Jon Marc (KC) 2.03m, 2. Kobe Jordan (Cornwall) 2.03m, 3. Andrew Betton (Calabar) 1.95 m.


Triple jump under 20: 1. Tisanne Hickling (St Jago) 12.82, 2. Danielle Spence (Wolmer) 12.24m, 3. Britny Kerr (Hydel) 12.15m.

Triple jump under 18: 1. Myesha Nott (from Rusea) 11.89 m, 2. Lotavia Brown (Edwin Allen) 11.75m.

Javelin throw for under 20s: 1. Sahjay Stevens (STETHS) 44.18m, 2. Tyfah Saunders (Immaculate) 41.53m, 3. Georgette Samuels (STETHS) 38.75 m.

Javelin throw for under 18s: 1. Aiko Jones (Wolmer) 40.58 m, 2. Zinedine Russell (Alpha) 31.00m.

The action of the second and final day of today will begin at 10:30 am.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.