Youth research

Sangrur Indirect Voting Results Live Updates: Setback for AAP as SAD (Amritsar) leader Simranjit Mann beats Gurmail Singh by 5,822 votes: The Tribune India

Tribune press service

Parvesh Sharma

Sangrur, June 26

The AAP suffered a setback in the Sangrur Lok Sabha by-election on Sunday as President and SAD (Amritsar) candidate Simranjit Singh Mann defeated its candidate. Gurmail Singh by 5,822 votes.

“My priority will be to raise the issue of the poor economic situation in Sangrur, including the condition of indebted farmers. We will work with the government of Punjab,” said the leader of SAD (Amritsar) after the victory.

It was a neck and neck fight between AAP’s Gurmail Singh and SAD-Chairman Amritsar Mann from the start of the countdownbut the latter, a former MP, took a significant lead over the AAP candidate and emerged victorious.

Meanwhile, Mann’s supporters began to converge outside the Dhuri counting center to celebrate the victory.

Sangrur is known as the stronghold of the AAP as many senior leaders including CM Bhagwant Mann, Finance Minister Harpal Cheema and Aman Arora belong to the town. All nine Assembly seats from Sangrur Lok Sabha constituency including Sangrur, Barnala, Sunam, Dirba, Dhuri, Malerkotla, Bhadaur, Mehal Kalan and Lehra are held by AAP MPs.