Youth leader

Wisconsin Women’s Business Initiative Corporation: AEO Honors Wisconsin Business Leader with 2022 Impact Award for Innovation on Main Street

Wendy K. Baumann receives an award at a gala in Washington DC

MILWAUKEE, WI – The Association for Enterprise Opportunity (AEO) presented Wendy K. Baumann, President and Visionary Chief Executive of the Wisconsin Women’s Business Initiative Corporation (WWBIC), with an Impact Award for Innovation on Main Street at AEO’s 30th Anniversary Gala at the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington DC on July 20.

“This award recognizes leaders who have made a major contribution to Main Street through innovation and leadership,” said AEO President and CEO Connie E. Evans.

“[Wendy remains] committed to championing fair entrepreneurship while supporting existing entrepreneurs.

Baumann has led WWBIC, a leading statewide economic development corporation, since 1994. Under Wendy’s leadership, WWBIC celebrates 35 years of impact this year. They recently received an upgraded Aeris rating of A-*** and currently have a loan portfolio of over $22.7 million with over 600 active borrowers and over 60 employees who collectively strive to achieve this nonprofit’s goal of “putting dreams to work.”

“I’m very proud of all the good work WWBIC has done for small businesses in Wisconsin over the years,” said Wendy K. Baumann, visionary president and director of WWBIC. “What drives me and all of our employees is our passion for providing training, loans and coaching in entrepreneurship and financial wellness, especially to underrepresented groups who have traditionally struggled to access fair and responsible capital.”

Other recipients of the 2022 AEO Impact Awards for Innovation on Main Street include Usman Ahmed of PayPal, Janie Barrera of LiftFund, Kelly Burton of Black Innovation Alliance, Lisa Mensah of Opportunity Finance Network, Natalie Madeira Cofield of Small Business Administration, Sean Salas of Camino Financial, William Bynum of Hope Credit Union and Frank Altman of Community Reinvestment Fund